logo sia 2019



eSecurity Awareness Model (eSAM)


The eDocument Security Awareness Model (eSAM) is designed to support governments in the development of their eDocument programs – helping them understand what is required to build an effective ‘security chain’. It can be used as a self-assessment tool to evaluate existing programs, the security impact of additional changes, or to test multiple new scenarios.





The eSAM consists of three main processes:

> Application to Issuance

> Document design to Personalization

> Support processes


Each main process contains several steps.

For each step, a multiple choice questionnaire is completed.

The answers generate a global and step by step Security Awareness Score, and a Management Report with recommendations on how to improve program security.


Download the presentation